Tag Archives: philippine blogosphere

State of the Philippine Blogosphere

by Kyaw Dee
Talking at BlogFest Soccsksargen

The last of the major blogging events for this year was the BlogFest Soccsksargen held at General Santos City on December 11, 2010. It was successfully organized by the Sox Bloggers in only 3 weeks.

Avel Manansala gave me the task of opening the BlogFest with a talk on the “State of the Philippine Blogosphere.” I had a hard time gathering my thoughts and inputs while I made my presentation. I depended on Ratified data and the input of many Filipino bloggers before I finalized my talk.

Here is the slide show presentation that accompanied my talk:

I divided my talk into three parts focusing on current trends, the development of blogging communities, and the landmark blogging events of 2010. 30 minutes is definitely not enough to summarize how vibrant and controversial the Philippine Blogosphere has been in 2010. I refused to focus on the controversies and divisive issues and highlighted the best moments of the Filipino bloggers and Philippine blogs.

Surprisingly, the theme of my talk coincided with the theme of the Philippine Blog Awards 2010, which is “Beyond Blogging.”

Most of the other speakers during BlogFest also emphasized the significance of blogs and the importance of responsible and effective blogging in personal growth, career and business advancement, and nation-building.

I would like to thanks Avel and the Sox Bloggers for trusting me to deliver the State of the Philippine Blogosphere. It is my hope that we indeed go beyond blogging.

Credits go to Iggy Go of Cebu Bloggers, Marie Claire Bretana of Iloilo Bloggers, Enrico Dee of Negros Bloggers, Irene A of Bukidnon Bloggers, Chiq Montes of CDO Bloggers, the officers of Davao Bloggers, Soccsksargen Bloggers, Ryann Elumba of Zamboanga Bloggers, the co-founders of Mindanao New Media, my colleagues at Avatar Media, Juned Sunido of PBA Inc, Andrew dela Serna of Ratified, Micaela Rodriguez, Berniemack Arellano, Doyzkie Buenviaje, Noelle Dotillos, Fitz Villafuerte, and Tonyo Cruz.

Daghang salamat! Padayon Mindanao! 🙂

Photo courtesy of Kyawster Dee.